Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: doi:10.22028/D291-24144
Title: Structural difference of surface and sub-surface native oxides of evaporated amorphous silicon
Author(s): Tada, Masato
Ohsaki, Hisashi
Aegerter, Michel A.
Language: English
Year of Publication: 1990
OPUS Source: Journal of non-crystalline solids. - 120.1990, S. 275-282
SWD key words: Oberfläche
DDC notations: 500 Science
Publikation type: Journal Article
Abstract: Evaporated amorphous silicon (a-Si) films, oxidized in air or O2 at room temperature, present two native oxides with different structures. The surface oxide is constructed from SiO4-tetrahedron structural units with a 110° O-Si-O angle, which is the common structural unit of stable silicon oxides. The internal oxide has a different structure having a 120° O-Si-O angle. The results of molecular orbital (MO) calculations for (SiO3)m− and (SiO4)n− anionic clusters support the presence of the two stable structures of silicon oxides and also reveal the importance of the ionic character of the oxidized sites.
Link to this record: urn:nbn:de:bsz:291-scidok-23008
Date of registration: 14-Aug-2009
Faculty: SE - Sonstige Einrichtungen
Department: SE - INM Leibniz-Institut für Neue Materialien
SciDok - Der Wissenschaftsserver der Universität des Saarlandes

Files for this record:
File Description SizeFormat 
AEG131.pdf2,06 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in SciDok are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.